Just because I can. . .

Yesterday I thought I did an AMAZING workout. Actually, I didn’t just think it, it was really a pretty great ST set. I set out to burn off those potato skins and I did.

First, I did a 5 minute warm up on the treadmill logging .45 miles. A 1 minute warm up, 3 minutes alternating between 6.0 mph and 6.5 mph, and 1 minute of 5.5 mph.

Then, I did two sets of the following:
20 12 lb Dumbbell Pullovers
30 second Banana Pose
10 Classic Wood Chops with 8 lb medicine ball (each side)
20 Genie Sit
20 Lying Abduction (each side)
20 Lying Adduction (each side)
15 5 lb Three Way Shoulder Raises
30 second Superman Pose
20 10 lb Dumbbell Hammer Curls
20 Tricep Dips with straight legs
20 5 lb Boxer (each side)

And I finished off my lunch with a 12 minute cool down on the treadmill for 1.01 miles by doing 10 minutes at my normal 5.7 mph pace and 2 minutes of cool down.

Where does that leave me today?? Sore! That’s where.

I forgot one thing. . . I hadn’t “worked out” all weekend. I mean, I didn’t set out to workout with all my gear ready to feel the burn and all that. I got in some activity but I didn’t lace up my shoes and go for a run with my heart rate monitor or anything like that. You know what I mean right? In fact, if you read me on SparkPeople, you might be thinking, “Didn’t she skip the Friday lunchtime workout too to go shopping??” And yes. You would be correct.

Between thinking it was a good “warm up” for me to run at 6.5 for any length of time on the treadmill and those Genie Sits, I’m having a hard time doing any kind of sit!!

If you don’t know what Genie Sit is, you basically kneel, forming a straight line from your knees to your head. Then lean back, keeping straight, as far as you can and straighten up again. That’s one rep. Try it. . . I’ll wait. . .

Do you feel that in your thighs?? Now do 19 more reps. Then repeat all 20 reps again. . . after running too fast.

Moral of this story: It’s good to work out. . . but it’s better if you remember where your starting point is and what might be pushing it too hard!! How does that saying go? “Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should.” True that!

One thought on “Just because I can. . .

  1. Haha, I am sore from my run yesterday too but I just felt off the whole time. I guess I pushed pretty hard too! I hate it when one workout knocks you out for a week (been there, done that). Its nice being sore but not *that* sore!
    ~Ang

Leave a Reply

